November PIP Breakfast will feature a Salute to Education

Published Thursday, October 22, 2020 1:00 pm

November PIP Breakfast will feature a Salute to Education

The Paducah Area Chamber of Commerce November Power in Partnership Breakfast will be a Salute to Education, featuring speaker Dr. Jason Glass, Commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE). The Chamber is hosting the monthly event at 7:30 a.m. on Thursday, November 5 with a virtual broadcast. The live broadcast will originate from the Commerce Center in the Paducah Bank Community Room. Baptist Health Paducah is the sponsor. Dr. Glass will be joining virtually from Frankfort. Register to attend the event via Zoom at  The virtual breakfast will also be carried live via the Chamber and WPSD’s Facebook page and livestreamed on WPSD Local 6. 

The event will also feature the four local school systems with a student speaking on their behalf.  Student speakers include: 

  • Gabby Copeland, Paducah Public Schools.
  • Ava Kelly, McCracken County Public Schools.
  • Megan Lorch, St. Mary Schools.
  • Ashley Thurston, Community Christian Academy.

Dr. Glass, a Kentucky native from Brandenburg, has been Commissioner of Education since September of this year. Before that, he had been superintendent and chief learner of Jeffco Public Schools in Colorado. In 2016, President Barack Obama nominated Glass to the National Board for Education Sciences. Dr. Glass received a bachelor’s degree in political science and history in 1994, a master’s in political science in 1996 and a master’s in education in 2007 from the University of Kentucky. He began his teaching career at Hazard Independent Schools, working as a high school social studies teacher from 1996 to 1998. Glass received his doctorate in education leadership in 2011 from Seton Hall University. He holds a certificate in advanced education leadership from Harvard University, received in 2019.Glass served as Iowa’s chief state school officer from 2010 to 2013. From 2013 to 2017 Glass was superintendent of Eagle County Public Schools in Colorado.

Back to top